Monday, November 10, 2014

Nuveman-Deniz, 6 Others Inducted Into National Softball Hall of Fame

Former UCLA and Team USA star Stacey Nuveman-Deniz and six others were inducted into the National Softball Hall of Fame this weekend.

The NCAA's all-time home runs leader was a longtime standout on Team USA. Nuveman participated in three Olympic games and took home two gold medals (in 2000 and 2004) and a silver in 2008.

Nuveman-Deniz is one of the greatest all-time players, and arguably the greatest catcher to put on a softball uniform. She retired in 2008 after more than a decade of international ball under her belt.

The slugging backstop is already a member of the US Olympic Hall of Fame as part of the 2004 gold-medal-winning squad.

The weekend's other inductees include Darryl Day (player); Craig Elliott (slow-pitch player); Ted Germain (umpire); Tommy Orndorff (manager); Ron Radigonda (meritorious service); and Bruce Tanski (sponsor). Germain's honor was a posthumous one.

No comments:

Post a Comment