Tuesday, May 12, 2015

ESPN Announces Broadcast Teams for Regional Round

In a detailed, lengthy announcement this afternoon regarding their postseason softball coverage, ESPN announced the play-by-play announcers and color commentators who will work games in the regional round this weekend.

Northwestern great Garland Cooper is pulled out of the broadcast booth again this year, as she will serve as an in-studio analyst for a new (to softball coverage) program called Bases Loaded. The show will air throughout the weekend at different times on ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, and It will center around live look-ins to multiple games throughout the day, as well as recaps and analysis of the games played up to that point. Matt Schick and Brendan Fitzgerald will host the show.

Multiple color commentators of note are making their postseason announcing debuts, after joining the broadcasting corps at different times during the season. Washington legendary pitcher Danielle Lawrie Locke; former Louisville associate head coach Carol Bruggeman; and Michigan great Jennie Ritter will don the headset in various locations this weekend.

Notably going unmentioned in the announcement are former Alabama outfielder Kayla Braud, who most recently served as a studio analyst during the SEC tournament, and Jennie Finch, who I'm advised has a camp in Texas this weekend.

Three regionals are listed as being carried on various ESPN-backed outlets, but no broadcasters were listed or announced. This includes the Athens; Columbia (MO); and Tallahassee regionals.

Additionally, though their regional was not picked up for broadcast by the Worldwide Leader, Oregon has announced plans to live stream all games from their regional via You can find more information on the Ducks, including the game schedule, by clicking here.

The full list of teams working this weekend is below, alphabetized by regional location.

Ann Arbor (Michigan hosts) - Adam Amin/Amanda Scarborough
Auburn (Auburn hosts) - Melissa Lee/Jennie Ritter
Baton Rouge (LSU hosts) - Beth Mowins/Jessica Mendoza/Michele Smith
Gainesville (Florida hosts) - Jonathan Yardley/Jenny Dalton-Hill
Knoxville (Tennessee hosts) - Sam Gore/Amanda Freed
Lafayette (Louisiana-Lafayette hosts) - Pam Ward/Cheri Kempf
Los Angeles (UCLA hosts) - Holly Rowe/Danielle Lawrie
Norman (Oklahoma hosts) - Thad Anderson/Carol Bruggeman
Tuscaloosa (Alabama hosts) - Cara Capuano/Leah O'Brien-Amico

You can read the full ESPN release here.

No comments:

Post a Comment