Tuesday, May 5, 2015

SEC Postseason Award Winners Announced

The SEC postseason awards & all-conference teams were announced today.

Player of the Year honors went to Kelsey Stewart of Florida. Her Gator teammate Lauren Haeger took home the Pitcher of the Year award, while Alexis Osorio of Alabama was named Freshman of the Year. Auburn's Clint Myers was named Coach of the Year.

LSU lead the way with six players named to the all-conference teams. Alabama, Auburn, and Georgia all placed four, while regular-season champ Florida had three, as did the Tigers of Missouri. Tennessee, Texas A&M, and South Carolina were all represented by a single player.

Worth noting is that the all-freshman team really looks like it could read as an all-conference team just on it's own. Minus the label and Osorio & Hoover's names popping up twice, one could easily read straight through and think that's just a third-team list. It was an incredible freshman class in the conference this year.

Also of note is that only two seniors made either the 1st or 2nd team all-conference, a sign that points to the recruiting abilities and star quality of senior classes over the next few years.

You'll find the full list of all-conference honorees below. Agree or disagree with one of the individual winners or with someone's placement or snub from the all-conference team? Hit the comments and let us know who and why!

First Team All-SEC 
P - Lauren Haeger, Florida 
P - Alexis Osorio, Alabama 
P - Carley Hoover, LSU 
IF - Kelsey Stewart, Florida 
IF - Emily Carosone, Auburn 
IF - Bianka Bell, LSU 
IF - Alex Hugo, Georgia 
IF - Kasey Cooper, Auburn 
OF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama 
OF - Alaynie Page, South Carolina 
OF - Emily Crane, Missouri 
OF - Kirsti Merritt, Florida 
C - Kellsi Kloss, LSU 
DP/U - Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU

Second Team All-SEC 
P - Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia 
P - Tori Finucane, Missouri 
IF - Marisa Runyon, Alabama 
IF - Sami Fagan, Missouri 
IF - Demi Turner, Alabama 
IF - Tori Vidales, Texas A&M 
IF - Jade Rhodes, Auburn 
OF - Tiffany Howard, Auburn 
OF - Bailey Landry, LSU 
OF - A.J. Andrews, LSU 
OF - Sydni Emanuel, Georgia 
C - Annie Aldrete, Tennessee 
DP/U - Tina Iosefa, Georgia

Freshman All-SEC 
P - Alexis Osorio, Alabama 
P - Carley Hoover, LSU 
P - Aleshia Ocasio, Florida 
P - Paige Lowary, Missouri 
IF - Tori Vidales, Texas A&M 
IF - Demi Turner, Alabama 
IF - Amanda Sanchez, Missouri 
IF - Meghan Gregg, Tennessee 
IF - Scarlet McSwain, Tennessee 
OF - Nicole DeWitt, Florida 
OF - Cortni Emanuel, Georgia 
OF - Emily Griggs, LSU 
OF - Elantra Cox, Ole Miss 
C - Ashley Walters, Texas A&M 
DP/U - Tiara Duffy, South Carolina

SEC All-Defensive 
P - Rainey Gaffin, Tennessee 
C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky 
1B - Sandra Simmons, LSU 
2B - Emily Carosone, Auburn 
2B - Kelsey Stewart, Florida 
SS - Kathlyn Medina, Florida 
3B - Kasey Cooper, Auburn 
LF - Tiffany Howard, Auburn 
CF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama 
RF - Emily Crane, Missouri

No comments:

Post a Comment