Tuesday, November 3, 2015

2016 National Softball Hall of Fame Class Announced

Following the induction ceremony of the Class of 2015 into the National Softball Hall of Fame, a group that included UCLA coaching great Sue Enquist and Oregon's Mike White, the members of the Class of 2016 were also announced.

The individuals who will be enshrined in 2016 are: Ken Eriksen; Jennie Finch; Harry Haroian; Peter Meredith; John Nelson; Tom Penders; Terry Peterson; and Mick Renneisen.

Eriksen and Renneisen will be inducted under the distinction of "meritorious service", while Finch, Haroian, Meredith, and Penders are all former fastpitch players. Nelson was an umpire, while Peterson's is listed as a "sponsor".

Only a couple of those names will be familiar to general softball fans, easily those of Eriksen and Finch.

The head coach at South Florida and currently the manager of Team USA, Eriksen holds 818 career victories and eleven NCAA tournament appearances, most recently including a three-year streak of postseason berths from 2012-2014. Only twice has his team reached the Super regional round, though, advancing in 2012 to the Women's College World Series. He has been the skipper of Team USA since January 2011, following ten years as an assistant on the staff.

Finch is arguably the best-known player in the history of the game, including having stretched her fame and name recognition to celebrity status off the field. As a player, however, she was a three-time all-American at the University of Arizona; twice the Honda Player of the Year; and the owner of two Olympic gold medals, including a gold from the 2004 Athens games. As a member of Team USA, she posted a 36-2 record with a miniscule 0.42 ERA in just over 239 innings pitched. She allowed just 14 earned runs over that time period and posted an 11/1 strikeout/walk ratio. As a Wildcat, she was 119-16 in her career with a 1.08 ERA in nearly 877 innings pitched. She also was a stellar hitter, with a .301 career batting average and fifty home runs.

All eight members of the Class of 2016 will be officially inducted in a ceremony next fall.

1 comment:

  1. oregon's mike white in this case is the pitcher, not the coach, if i read the original announcement correctly.