Monday, December 7, 2015

NFCA Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Announced

Following the banquet honoring the Class of 2015, the NFCA announced a quartet of coaches that will be inducted into the organization's Hall of Fame in 2016.

clockwise, from top left: Brock,
Tschida, Stevens, Joseph
Sam Houston State's Bob Brock; Division III St. Thomas' John Tschida; Michigan State's Jacquie Joseph; and former Utah head coach Mona Stevens will make up the Class of '16.

Tschida, in his 16th season at the helm of the Tommies, is the all-time winningest Division III coach with a career winning percentage of .845 to his name. In 2004, he became the first-ever coach to win a national title at two different schools and reached the 800 wins mark earlier this year. Tschida has been named MIAC [Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference] eleven of his twenty-one years as a head coach, and has coached thirty-three all-American players and ninety-five all-conference players.

Brock, as we profiled earlier last week, is the longtime head coach of Baylor, Texas A&M, and Sam Houston State. He holds three national championships to his name from his time with the Aggies and should reach the 1,100 wins mark during the 2016 season. In addition to National Championships in 1982, 1983, and 1987, Brock also led the A&M squad to runner-up finishes in 1984 and 1986. He coached twenty-one all-Americans, as well as two players that later took home Olympic gold medals for Team USA.

Joseph and Stevens will both enter the Hall of Fame via the "Pioneer" category; Joseph, entering her 22nd season at the helm of Michigan State, holds a career 724-723-1 record and is the winningest coach in MSU softball history. She has led the team to four postseason Regional appearances.

Stevens is a former player & head coach at Utah, where she led the Utes to four NCAA tournament appearances in her nine seasons at the program's helm. She holds a 281-239-1 career record.

Both Joseph and Stevens are past presidents of the NFCA.

The Class of 2016 will be officially inducted at the 2016 NFCA Convention in New Orleans in December 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment