Monday, August 15, 2016

NPF Player to Receive Golden Glove Award

Rawlings, the glove manufacturer responsible for handing out the Gold Glove awards to the top defensive player at each position in both the American and National Leagues at the end of the Major League Baseball season, has announced that they will award a single National Pro Fastpitch player a Gold Glove award following the conclusion of this NPF season. 

A Gold Glove statue presented to a Major
League Baseball award winner. No mock-up
of the inaugural NPF award has been released.
The first-ever award of its kind in the NPF, the Gold Glove will be voted on by NPF coaches and managers. The voting "panel" are not allowed to vote for members of their own squads.

A quote from Rawlings executive vice president of marketing Mike Thompson illustrates the company's view of the NPF as a whole, stating, in part, "The Rawlings Gold Glove goes to players at the very highest professional level of sport, and we really didn't have that level until recently in softball. Once we felt like the NPF was  going to take root, that it was here to stay, it was an easy decision. They're every bit as good an athlete as men, it's just a different sport."

The Gold Glove will be an annual award; the inaugural winner will be announced August 18th prior to the NPF Championship Series in Tuscaloosa. Front-runners for the award figure to include Chicago Bandits first baseman Brittany Cervantes, who has not made an error in more than 200 opportunities this season, as well as Akron Racers outfielder AJ Andrews, who also holds a perfect fielding percentage and has a full highlight reel of difficult circus catches from the year.

No comments:

Post a Comment