Tuesday, October 25, 2016

2017 Team USA Invite List Includes Current, Former Stars

The list of players receiving invitations to Team USA tryout camp in January numbers forty-three, according to a release from USA Softball on Monday.

The inaugural list of invites for 2017 is made up of twenty-seven active collegiate players and sixteen graduated stars. 2012 graduates Amanda Chidester; Val Arioto; and Michelle Moultrie, the later now an assistant coach at Samford, are the senior statesmen of the group, while PAC-12 freshmen Alyssa Palomino and Rachel Garcia are the youngest players that will be in camp for the red, white, and blue. 

Nineteen current PAC-12 players and alumni of the conference received invites to the camp, the most of any collegiate conference, barely ahead of the SEC's sixteen invites. Three players will represent the American Athletic Conference, while two were invited from the Big 12 and the Big 10; Sun Belt; and Conference USA will all have a single representative suiting up at training camp. Zero players from the ACC were invited in the first round of selections.

Three players will put on the red, white, and blue for the first time, including Arizona powerhouse senior pitcher Danielle O'Toole. Her invitation to tryout could have serious implications on her pro prospects, as well, as she currently ranks as the #2 pitcher available in the 2017 NPF draft class on the JWOS Big Board, but would be required to split her season between her eventual NPF club and Team USA if she is selected for the national team roster. Cat Osterman prodigy Randi Rupp of Texas State and South Florida outfielder Juli Weber are the other "rookies".

Weber is one of the lesser-known names on the roster and one of three members of former USA head coach Ken Eriksen's South Florida Bulls, but her selection is a worthy one, given her 2016 numbers that included a .406 batting average; .609 slugging percentage; 117 total bases; and the American Athletic Conference's Player of the Year trophy.

The invitation list breaks down as ten seniors and ten current juniors receiving invites, as well as five sophomores and two freshmen. Six members of the class of 2016 were invited to return, as well as two 2015 graduates; three graduates from the class of 2014; two from the 2013 graduating class; and the afore-mentioned trio of veterans that last saw a college diamond in 2012.

2014 and 2015 back-to-back champion Florida placed seven players on the list of invites, tied for the most of any program with another septet of UCLA Bruins. The defending-champion Oklahoma Sooners are represented on the roster of invitations by now-sophomore standout Sydney Romero and recent transferred pitcher Paige Lowary.

The full list of players invited to tryout for the Team USA roster can be found below:
- Ali Aguilar, Washington (2017, IF)
- Annie Aldrete, California (2017, C)
- Valerie Arioto, California (2012, IF)
- Kelly Barnhill, Florida (2019, P)
- Bianka Bell, LSU (2016, IF)
- Allexis Bennett, UCLA (2016, OF)
- Ally Carda, UCLA (2015, P/IF)
- Raven Chavanne, Tennessee (2013, IF)
- Amanda Chidester, Michigan (2012, C)
- Kasey Cooper, Auburn (2017, IF)
- Nicole DeWitt, Florida (2018, IF)
- Astin Donovan, South Florida (2018, OF)
- Hannah Flippen, Utah (2017, IF)
- Rachel Garcia, UCLA (2020, P)
- Delanie Gourley, Florida (2017, P)
- Meghan Gregg, Tennessee (2018, IF)
- Paige Halstead, UCLA (2019, C)
- Carley Hoover, LSU (2018, P)
- Jazmyn Jackson, California (2018, OF)
- Madeline Jelenicki, UCLA (2018, C)
- Bailey Landry, LSU (2017, OF)
- Jenna Lilley, Oregon (2018, IF)
- Amanda Lorenz, Florida (2019, OF)
- Paige Lowary, Oklahoma (2018, P)
- Haylie McCleney, Alabama (2016, OF)
- Jessica Moore, Oregon (2013, P)
- Michelle Moultrie, Florida (2012, OF)
- Aubree Munro, Florida (2016, C)
- Sara Nevins, South Florida (2014, P)
- Danielle O'Toole, Arizona (2016, IF)
- Alyssa Palomino, Arizona (2020, OF)
- Sydney Romero, Oklahoma (2019, IF)
- Lindsay Rood, California (2019, IF)
- Randi Rupp, Texas State (2018, P)
- Mysha Sataraka, UCLA (2016, IF)
- Madison Shipman, Tennessee (2014, IF)
- Delaney Spaulding, UCLA (2017, IF)
- Kelsey Stewart, Florida (2016, IF/OF)
- Gwen Svekis, Oregon (2018, C)
- Janie Takeda, Oregon (2015, OF)
- Jackie Traina, Alabama (2014, P)
- Juli Weber, South Florida (2017, OF)
- Morgan Zerkle, Marshall (2017, OF)

1 comment:

  1. hi'
    nice post,keep sharing!

    some of the best mens shoes available here
    party footwear