Saturday, November 12, 2016

Eleven Players Added to Team USA Tryout Roster

Following the inaugural list of invitations late last month, Team USA has announced an additional eleven players who have been invited to participate in tryouts for National team early next year.

The list is headlined by FAU ace Kylee Hanson and Oklahoma national champion Paige Parker and also includes Akron Racers catcher Griffin Joiner, among others.

Parker is one of three Oklahoma Sooners who received supplemental invitations, joined by teammates catcher Lea Wodach and outfielder Nicole Pendley. Oregon had two players receive supplemental invitations to tryout, including senior infielder Nikki Udria and sophomore pitcher Megan Kleist.

Joiner is the only at-present graduated player to join the tryout camp at this stage; if she is selected to join the national program, she will forgo much of her third season in the professional league.

Four members of the class of 2017 have been added to the roster, including Hanson; Pendley; Karley Wester of Notre Dame; and Nikki Udria of Oregon. Their inclusion brings the count to thirteen active collegiate seniors who will try out to continue their careers following graduation and the completion of their collegiate eligibility.

One intriguing addition to the list of invites is South Florida pitcher Kalen McGill. After spending her freshman season at South Alabama in 2015, McGill transferred to the College of Central Florida for her sophomore season, where she received instruction from Kevin Fagan. At South Alabama as a freshman, McGill posted a 16-4 record and a 1.92 ERA and followed that up with a 33-4 record and 0.83 ERA under Fagan's tutelage.

Two previously-announced participants will instead not take part in the tryout camp; longtime National team members Jackie Traina and Sara Nevins will no longer take part in the camp. Nevins "retired" from the NPF after an abbreviated rookie campaign in 2016, while Train's contract with the league's Scrap Yard Dawgs will expire next calendar year,  barring an extension or new agreement.

With the newest list of invitations issued, the PAC-12 extended it's influence over the National team; the nation's historically-greatest conference will now be represented by twenty-one athletes and alumni in camp. The SEC continues to fall directly behind in line, now represented by eighteen athletes in camp.

The Selection Camp for the Women's National Team will be held from January 1-5, 2017 in Clearwater, Florida.

The most updated list of players vying for a spot on the Team USA roster can be found below; players newly invited are denoted in bold.

- Ali Aguilar, Washington (2017, IF)
- Annie Aldrete, California (2017, C)
- Valerie Arioto, California (2012, IF)
- Kelly Barnhill, Florida (2019, P)
- Bianka Bell, LSU (2016, IF)
- Allexis Bennett, UCLA (2016, OF)
- Ally Carda, UCLA (2015, P/IF)
- Raven Chavanne, Tennessee (2013, IF)
- Amanda Chidester, Michigan (2012, C)
- Kasey Cooper, Auburn (2017, IF)
- Nicole DeWitt, Florida (2018, IF)
- Astin Donovan, South Florida (2018, OF)

- Cortni Emanuel, Georgia (2018, OF)- Hannah Flippen, Utah (2017, IF)
- Rachel Garcia, UCLA (2020, P)
- Delanie Gourley, Florida (2017, P)
- Meghan Gregg, Tennessee (2018, IF)
- Paige Halstead, UCLA (2019, C)

- Kylee Hanson, Florida Atlantic (2017, P)- Carley Hoover, LSU (2018, P)
- Jazmyn Jackson, California (2018, OF)
- Madeline Jelenicki, UCLA (2018, C)

- Griffin Joiner, Kentucky (2015, C)
- Megan Kleist, Oregon (2019, P)- Bailey Landry, LSU (2017, OF)
- Jenna Lilley, Oregon (2018, IF)
- Amanda Lorenz, Florida (2019, OF)
- Paige Lowary, Oklahoma (2018, P)
- Haylie McCleney, Alabama (2016, OF)

- Kalen McGill, South Florida (2018, P)- Jessica Moore, Oregon (2013, P)
- Michelle Moultrie, Florida (2012, OF)
- Aubree Munro, Florida (2016, C)
- Danielle O'Toole, Arizona (2016, IF)
- Alyssa Palomino, Arizona (2020, OF)

- Paige Parker, Oklahoma (2018, P)
- Nicole Pendley, Oklahoma (2017, OF)- Sydney Romero, Oklahoma (2019, IF)
- Lindsay Rood, California (2019, IF)
- Randi Rupp, Texas State (2018, P)

- DJ Sanders, Louisiana-Lafayette (2018, IF)- Mysha Sataraka, UCLA (2016, IF)
- Madison Shipman, Tennessee (2014, IF)
- Delaney Spaulding, UCLA (2017, IF)
- Kelsey Stewart, Florida (2016, IF/OF)
- Gwen Svekis, Oregon (2018, C)
- Janie Takeda, Oregon (2015, OF)

- Nikki Udria, Oregon (2017, IF)- Juli Weber, South Florida (2017, OF)
- Karley Wester, Notre Dame (2017, OF)
- Lea Wodach, Oklahoma (2018, C)- Morgan Zerkle, Marshall (2017, OF)

No comments:

Post a Comment