Sunday, December 11, 2016

Brock, Three Others Inducted Into NFCA Hall of Fame

A quartet of coaches, including Sam Houston State's Bob Brock; Division III St. Thomas' John Tschida; Michigan State's Jacquie Joseph; and former Utah coach Mona Stevens made up the four-member class of coaches that were inducted into the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Hall of Fame this weekend.

Bob Brock
Pic via Lee Dobbins of JWOS
Rschida, now in his 17th season at the helm of the Tommies, is the all-time winningest Division III coach with a career winning percentage of .845 to his name. In 2004, he became the first-ever coach to win a national title at two different schools; In 2016, he led his squad to a 43-8 record and led his team to the Division III tournament, where they were ultimately eliminated.

Brock is the longtime head coach of Baylor, Texas A&M, and Sam Houston State. He holds three national championships to his name from his time with the Aggies and reached the 1,100 win milestone during the 2016 season. In addition to National Championships in 1982, 1983, and 1987, Brock also led the A&M squad to runner-up finishes in 1984 and 1986.

Joseph and Stevens both entered the Hall of Fame via the "Pioneer" category; Joseph, entering her 24th season at the helm of Michigan State, holds a career 770-788-1 record and is the winningest coach in MSU softball history. She has led the team to four postseason Regional appearances. 

Stevens is a former player & head coach at Utah, where she led the Utes to four NCAA tournament appearances in her nine seasons at the program's helm. She holds a 281-239-1 career record. 

Both Joseph and Stevens are past presidents of the NFCA.

No comments:

Post a Comment