Friday, January 6, 2017

Team USA Roster Announced

The twenty-member roster for the Women's National Team has been announced. The announcement comes after more than four dozen players participated in tryout camp from January 1-5.

The roster includes many longtime USA stalwarts, including Valerie Arioto; Ally Carda; Amanda Chidester; Jessica Moore; Michelle Moultrie; and Janie Takeda.

Moultrie; Chidester; and Arioto are the "senior statesmen" of the group, as members of the graduating class of 2012. Florida P Kelly Barnhill and UCLA C Paige Halstead are the youngest players on the roster, both as sophomores.

Five members (25%) of the roster have Florida Gator ties; Barnhill and P Delanie Gourley both currently suit up for the Gators, while Moultrie; Aubree Munro ('16); and Kelsey Stewart ('16) are Gator alumni on the squad. Only UCLA and Oregon (three each) are represented by multiple players on the squad.

Notable names in tryout camp that did not make the Team USA roster include former Tennessee all-American Scrap Yard Dawgs infielder Madison Shipman and Florida Atlantic senior ace Kylee Hanson.

The full twenty-member Team USA roster follows: (denotes graduating year)

-Ali Aguilar, IF, Washington (2017) 
-Valerie Arioto, IF, California (2012) 
-Kelly Barnhill, P, Florida (2019) 
-Ally Carda, P/IF, UCLA (2015) 
-Amanda Chidester, C/IF, Michigan (2012) 
-Kasey Cooper, IF, Auburn (2017) 
-Hannah Flippen, IF, Utah (2017) 
-Delanie Gourley, P, Florida (2017) 
-Paige Halstead, C, UCLA (2019) 
-Jazmyn Jackson, OF, California (2018) 
-Jenna Lilley, IF, Oregon (2018) 
-Haylie McCleney, OF, Alabama (2016)
-Jessica Moore, P, Oregon (2013) 
-Michelle Moultrie, OF, Florida (2012) 
-Aubree Munro, C, Florida (2016) 
-Danielle O’Toole, P, Arizona (2017) 
-Delaney Spaulding, IF, UCLA (2017) 
-Kelsey Stewart, UT, Florida (2016) 
-Janie Takeda, OF, Oregon (2015) 
-Morgan Zerkle, OF, Marshall (2017)

No comments:

Post a Comment