Thursday, May 11, 2017

ACC Awards: FSU Narrowly Misses Clean Sweep

The ACC's Player, Pitcher, and Coach of the Year trophies are headed to Tallahassee, as Florida State's Jessica Warren, Jessica Burroughs, and coach Lonni Alameda were awarded for their season's efforts.

Warren, a junior, led her team and the conference in eight different offensive categories, including home runs, RBI, and slugging percentage. Her .438 batting average finished the regular season second in the league.

Burroughs, who was selected first overall in the NPF draft, posted a 1.08 ERA during the regular season and she gathered 233 strikeouts. 2017 is the second season in a row to end in Burroughs being named the conference's Pitcher of the Year.

North Carolina's Brittany Pickett was named the conference's Freshman of the Year. The pitcher earned twenty wins in her first season in Chapel Hill, earning a 2.51 ERA in 190 innings of work. Her strikeout/walk ratio was better than 3/1, while opponents hit less than .250 against her.

Alameda earned her fifth consecutive Coach of the Year award after leading her program to a perfect record in conference play and, coincidentally, also their fifth straight regular-season conference championship. The 'Noles began the ACC tournament ranked #4 overall in the nation.

Nine of the eleven conference teams were represented on the all-conference first- and second-teams; FSU led the way once again with seven selections, including six on the first team. Both numbers led the league. Louisville, Boston College, and Notre Dame each placed four players on the all-conference squads, while North Carolina was represented by a trio of players. North Carolina State, Syracuse, and Virginia all earned a pair of selections, while junior Breanna Davenport of Virginia Tech was her school's sole representative. Pittsburgh and Georgia Tech were the only programs not to have a player nominated all-conference.

The full all-ACC first- and second-team rosters are below. Team members are listed in alphabetical order by team name.

First Team All-ACC 
Chloe Sharabba, Jr., SS, Boston College 
Jessica Dreswick, Jr., P, Boston College 
Jessica Warren, Jr., 3B, Florida State 
Jessica Burroughs, R-Sr., P, Florida State 
Morgan Klaevemann, Sr., OF, Florida State 
Alex Powers, R-Sr., 1B, Florida State 
Meghan King, R-So., P, Florida State 
Sydney Broderick, Sr., C, Florida State 
Brittany Pickett, Fr., P, North Carolina 
Tyler Ross, Sr., LF, NC State 
Karley Wester, Sr., CF, Notre Dame 
Ali Wester, So., LF, Notre Dame 
Sydney O'Hara, Sr., DP, Syracuse 
Alicia Hansen, So., 2B, Syracuse 
Katie Park, Sr., C, Virginia 

Second Team All-ACC 
Annie Murphy, Jr., OF, Boston College 
Tatiana Cortez, Sr., 3B, Boston College 
Cali Harrod, So., SS, Florida State 
Nicole Pufahl, R-Jr., CF, Louisville 
Maryssa Becker, Sr., P, Louisville 
Morgan Meyer, Sr., RF, Louisville 
Jordan McNary, Fr., LF, Louisville 
Jade Caraway, Fr., CF, NC State 
Kendra Lynch, Sr., DP, North Carolina 
Taylor Wike, Jr., SS, North Carolina 
Leah Murray, So., OF, North Carolina 
Morgan Reed, Jr., SS, Notre Dame 
Melissa Rochford, So., 3B, Notre Dame 
Kaitlin Fitzgerald, Sr., 3B, Virginia 
Breanna Davenport, Jr., DP, Virginia Tech

No comments:

Post a Comment