Thursday, May 25, 2017

Barnhill, Good, Gregg Finalists for National POTY

Florida pitcher Kelly Barnhill, James Madison pitcher Megan Good, and Tennessee infielder Meghan Gregg have been named the three finalists for the National Player of the Year award that will be given out next week in Oklahoma City.

For the first time in history, all sixteen seeded teams have advanced to the Super Regional round. #13 LSU and #10 Oklahoma advanced to their respective Super Regionals after winner-take-all games on Monday following a rain-soaked weekend regional tournament.

Barnhill, who was named the SEC Player of the Year, leads the nation with a 0.35 ERA and 310 strikeouts. She ranks in the top ten in the nation in shutouts and strikeouts, while her twenty-three victories ranks third in the conference. The righty hurler earned first-team all-SEC honors and first-team all-region honors as just a sophomore.

Good, the Colonial Athletic Association's star and three-time conference Pitcher of the Year, recorded thirty-eight victories for the JMU Dukes this season, a number that led the nation. Good's season ERA of 0.63 ranks third in the nation, while her fourteen shutouts also lead the nation. She earned first-team all-conference honors for the third year in a row, as well as a first-team all-region nod.

Gregg enjoyed a breakout campaign in 2017, recording a .440 batting average, fourteen home runs, and seventy-seven RBI. Her batting average, as well as her .555 on-base percentage, are good enough to rank in the top ten in the nation. The SEC Player of the Year, Gregg leads the SEC in batting average, slugging percentage, RBI, and total bases, and was named all-conference and all-region.

The trio was whittled down from a list of ten finalists that also included Big Ten Pitcher of the Year Sara Groenewegen of Minnesota, Arizona's Katiyana Mauga and Danielle O'Toole, and ACC Player of the Year Jessica Warren, among others.

The 2017 National Player of the Year will be announced on May 30 in Oklahoma City, prior to the start of the Women's College World Series.

No comments:

Post a Comment