Tuesday, May 2, 2017

NIU's Abrahamson Elected to Hall of Fame

Longtime Northern Illinois head coach Dee Abrahamson will be inducted into the school’s athletics Hall of Fame this fall as part of the Class of 2017.

Announced earlier this week, Abrahamson is one of six joining the Hall of Fame in October. The former Husky softball coach also served in an administrative role at the school and with the NCAA.

Abrahamson won 416 games during her tenure as the Huskies’ head coach, making her the winningest coach in the program’s history. She amassed a career record of 416-286-5 at the school. She led her program to the Women’s College World Series in 1988.

After her tenure as the softball coach, Abrahamson served in numerous positions as part of the school’s athletics administration. She held the variety of roles from 1994-2011, following her tenure as softball coach from 1980-1994.

In addition to her work with the Huskies, Abrahamson served as the NCAA softball secretary-rules editor from 1996 until 2015.

As part of the 1988 softball team's induction in 2002, Abrahamson is already technically in the school's Hall of Fame, but will inducted individually and on her own merits in 2017.

Abrahamson and the remaining members of the class of 2017 will be inducted in a ceremony on October 6th.

Joining Abrahamson as part of the induction class this year are Steve Azar and Garrett Wolfe (football); Mark Goodson (men’s gymnastics); Ed Kositzki (men’s soccer); and Angela Lockett (women’s basketball).

No comments:

Post a Comment