Tuesday, May 9, 2017

SEC Awards: Gregg,Barnhill Take Top Honors

Tennessee’s Meghan Gregg earned SEC Player of the Year honors, it was announced today, while Florida pitcher Kelly Barnhill took home the conference’s top Pitcher award. The individual award winners and the all-conference first- and second-team were announced in a news release by the SEC today. 

Florida’s Tim Walton, who led his team to a regular-season conference title, earned Coach of the Year honors, while Tennessee rookie Caylan Arnold earned Freshman of the Year honors and made a clean sweep of the individual awards for the conference’s East division. 

Six Florida Gators were named to the all-conference first-team, including Barnhill, and had seven players named all-conference, which leads all teams. Auburn was close behind with four all-SEC nods, while Tennessee, LSU, and Georgia each placed three players on the teams. Ole Miss and Texas A&M enjoyed a pair of nominations on the teams, while Alabama, Mississippi State, Arkansas, Kentucky, and Missouri all had a single representative on the teams. South Carolina was the lone team shutout of all-conference honors. 

The all-freshman team includes thirteen rookies, including Tennessee’s Arnold and Mackenzie Boesel of South Carolina, giving the Gamecocks their first mention in the all-conference release. 

The awards and all-conference teams were voted on by the thirteen league head coaches.


  1. Who were the two selections from Ole Miss?

  2. Kylan Becker, first team, and Kaitlin Lee, second team, were the two players from Ole Miss to receive all-conference honors.