Friday, May 5, 2017

UNLV Inducts Legendary Coach McDonald Into Hall of Fame

Legendary UNLV head coach Shan McDonald was inducted into the school's Hall of Fame Thursday night.

Shan McDonald
McDonald, the program's all-time winningest head coach, retired in 2003 with 511 wins at the helm of the Rebels program. She led her program to seven NCAA tournament appearances, with three Women's College World Series appearances mixed in.

In the Hall of Fame, McDonald joins five players who learned under her tutelage and have already been nominated for the honor.

The 1995 season was inarguably McDonald's finest showing as a coach, as her squad broke or tied nearly three dozen program records, amassed forty-nine wins, and went all the way to the Women's College World Series.

Joining McDonald in the Class of 2017 were Jamaal Brimmer (football); Ryan Moore (golf); Gwynn Hobbs (women's basketball); Eric Nielsen (baseball); Tony Terrell (football); Mark Wade (men's basketball); broadcaster Dick Calvert; and the 2003 baseball team.

No comments:

Post a Comment