Sunday, June 18, 2017

Two Softballers Selected to ASun Conference Hall of Fame

40% of the Atlantic Sun Conference’s five-member Hall of Fame class of 2017 will come from the softball diamond, as Kennesaw State alum Keri McKee Cortolano and Florida Atlantic’s Nicole Myers are both scheduled for induction following an announcement from the conference last week.

Cortolano is the first Kennesaw State alum to earn induction into the hall of honors after the Owls joined the conference in 2006. As part of the squad during the program’s transition from Division II to Division 1, Cortolano was named the conference’s Player of the Year at both levels, including in the Peach Belt and ASun.

During her two seasons in the ASun, Cortolano, then Keri McKee, twice earned first-team all-conference honors and was named the ASun Player of the Year in 2007. She  finished her career with a .416 batting average, seventy-six runs scored, and seventy-six RBIs during her two seasons at the Division I level.

Cortolano continues to hold five Owl offensive career records, including the program mark for hits (339) and RBIs (216), among other categories.

Myers, who played for the Sunshine State-based FAU Owls from 1999-2002, still rests among her own program’s laurels fifteen years after her career ended.

Three times named the Atlantic Sun Player of the Year, Myers led her squad to four conference titles during her time in Boca Raton. To date, she holds five conference career records in the circle, including strikeouts, wins, ERA, complete games, and shutouts.

Myers was twice named an all-American, and ended her career with a top-ten all-time placement in the category of career strikeouts with more than 1,300 to her name. She was named the school’s Female Athlete of the Year in 1999 as a freshman, and played a single season profesionally in the NPF with the Akron Racers in 2004.

Previously part of the inaugural class of the FAU Hall of Fame in 2006, Myers is the first softball player representing the Owls to be elected to the conference Hall of Fame.

Cortolano and Myers are joined in induction in 2017 by Colin Montgomerie (golf); Russell Knox (golf); and Chris Westervelt (baseball). The induction ceremony is scheduled for October 16, to take place in Newark, New Jersey.

No comments:

Post a Comment